Week 3: Train hard. Live hard?

Posted on Updated on

  Everyday I struggle between being a stoic Spartan warrior and a campaigning politician.  I love to be social, but I also love to train hard and get enough rest.  It’s June 1 and it is time to get serious. The last 2 to 3 weeks I’ve been living life and enjoying myself.  I won’t deny that I have slacked on my diet.  Saturday, I ran a 5k road race in Bogalusa. A few good friends ran it with me and we had a good time.

Even Ru had a good time

Although i did not change anything about my training in order to run well, I still should have run faster than 17:44.  Even though this race did not matter one bit and I really didn’t push too hard, I should have been able to go sub 17 easy.  It is time to get serious.  Don’t get me wrong, I have no regrets about the thousands of excess calories I consumed in the last few weeks. I realize that it is necessary to find a good balance between living well and working hard.  I am looking forward to a good summer of training and good friends to following me on bikes when they aren’t running with me!

Mark being a good coach

Play time is over now and I have my goals.  I plan to run the Blue Berry 5k on June 13th and go sub 17.

Mileage for the week:

Monday- 8 miles, strides

Tuesday-  4 miles

Wednesday- 6 miles, strides

Thursday- 4 miles

Friday- 7 miles

Saturday- 8 miles including 5k

Sunday- 8 miles, bombed long run but did a good leg workout

45 miles total

Leave a Reply

