Weeks 14-16: “A New Era”

Posted on Updated on

  

“The woods are lovely, dark, and deep,

But I have promises to keep,

And miles to go before I sleep, 

And miles to go before I sleep.”

-“Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Evening” by Robert Frost

Coach started sending me workouts a few weeks ago so that puts an end to summer training. 
I’m officially back in Ruston for the season and my first workout with the team is sometime this week. 

I met with Coach yesterday and we had a great talk about “A New Era” for Louisiana Tech Cross Country. 
Just to end on a good note, I want to post my last week of running (week 16).
Week 16 (August 24-30):
Monday- 12 miles AM, 4 miles PM
Tuesday-12 miles AM
Wednesday-10 miles AM, 10 miles PM
Thursday- 11 miles AM (workout), 5 miles PM
Friday- 18 miles
Saturday- 4 miles
Sunday- 6 miles AM, 8 miles PM
100 miles total
That’s right guys, 100 miles. 

Ended summer training with a positive attitude and a lot of confidence. 

My last few weeks at home were great. I managed to balance living well and training hard. 

I did a lot of things that weren’t helpful to my training but the psychological and emotional benefits were more important. 
It was a strange feeling to think about this being my last summer of training for Cross-Country. 

Although I plan to run hard for many years after, running for a team has been a huge part of my life for almost a decade. 

That being said, everything has an end. 

By the time this is over it will be time for me to move on to other things in life. 

This post was short but I’ve been getting things straight with school and moving back in to the XC house. 
More updates and stories to come!

  

Leave a Reply

